🎬 Get Started

Get Started

Hola builder, welcome to BuilderKit.ai!

Here is a quick overview of the boilerplate to get it running within a few minutes. You can also go through the deployment tutorial to deploy it on Vercel.

Prerequisites

Ensure you have the following installed:

  • Node.js (v14 or higher)
  • npm, pnpm, or yarn (npm for me)

Installation

  1. Clone the repository:

    terminal
    git clone https://github.com/1811-Labs-LLC/BuilderKit-Starter.git [YOUR_APP_NAME]
     
    cd [YOUR_APP_NAME]

    If you are trying to run an AI app (e.g., content-writer), switch to that particular branch of the app. Follow the app-specific tutorial for more details.

    You can find all the branches available here.

    terminal
    git checkout [BRANCH_NAME]

    Additionally, to delete the reference to the remote repository, run the following command. Remember that you will not be able to switch to any other branches (apps) once you run this command.

    terminal
    git remote remove origin
  2. Install dependencies:

    terminal
    npm install
  3. Environment Variables: (optional) Copy the required variables from .env.example to .env.local and update the values.

    terminal
    cp .env.example .env.local

    Or, manually create a .env.local file in the root directory and add the required environment variables mentioned in .env.example.

Running the Application

  1. Run the development server:

    terminal
    npm run dev

    Hurray 🎉, your development server is up & running. Open http://localhost:3000 (opens in a new tab) to see your site.

  2. Build for production:

    terminal
    npm run build

    This command compiles the application for production usage.

Additional Scripts

  • Prepare Husky for Git hooks:

    terminal
    npm run prepare
  • Validate the code with Linting, Formatting & Typecheck:

    terminal
    npm run validate

Repo Structure

BuilderKit includes a primary NextJS Base Boilerplate and 20+ pre-built AI tools. Each boilerplate and app is located in different branches of the GitHub repository.

Main: The base boilerplate is located in the main branch itself. You can find all the included features here.

  • NextJS Boilerplate - main

Tool Specific: The AI tools are located in specific branches as listed below.

  • AI Content Writer Tool - content-writer
  • MultiLLM ChatGPT Tool - multillm-chatgpt
  • AI Chat with PDF Tool - chat-with-pdf
  • Voice Transcription Tool - voice-transcription
  • Headshot Generator Tool - headshot-generator
  • Image Generation Tool - image-generation
  • AI QR Code Generator Tool - qr-code-generation
  • Interior Design Generator Tool - interior-design-generator
  • AI YouTube Content Generator Tool - youtube-content-generator
  • AI Image Enhancer & Upscaler Tool - image-enhancer-upscaler
  • Chat With YouTube Tool - chat-with-youtube

The file structure for the NextJs Boilerplate and the AI Tools is explained respectively.